This guidance is specifically developed for programs covered by SPG 601.34
Failure to Report
- Faculty, staff and students who fail to comply with SPG 601.34 or other university policies will be subject to disciplinary action
What if I am wrong?
- You may be concerned about reporting child abuse because you might be wrong. As long as you make a good-faith report, you are protected by the Michigan Child Protection Law from criminal or civil liability. You are also protected from criminal or civil liability if you participate in an investigation.
- Mandated reporters may be held liable for civil damages and be subject to criminal misdemeanor charges that carry a penalty of up to 93 days in jail or a $500 fine
Reporting Child Abuse
Anyone who knows, suspects, or receives information indicating that a child has been abused or neglected, or who has other concerns about the safety of children, MUST:
- Promptly notify his or her supervisor, Program Sponsor or Program Administrator when it is safe and appropriate to do so
- The supervisor should notify the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services by calling 855-444-3911 or the appropriate campus department of public safety.
- Ann Arbor – 734-763-3434
- UM-Dearborn – 313-593-5333
- UM-Flint – 810-762-3333